April showers

So I’ve been going to this writers/artists group that’s based in Silver Spring pretty regularly. I’ve yet to produce anything stunning, but I have to admit it’s good exercise, and it’s really loosened me up so I don’t feel nearly as much pressure to produce something “perfect.”

One night, out of sheer curiosity and boredom, I started writing… something. I didn’t get very far at all.

She stared at the computer screen. โ€œHow hard can it be?โ€ she said to herself. Plenty of people write in their spare time. Her brain churned through half phrases and incomplete thoughts. She told herself severely that there was a reason her daydreams never developed anything resembling a plot. Besides, she had no gift for writing conversation.

Pretty bad, eh? I think I should definitely stick to drawing and cooking and the occasional blog entry. ๐Ÿ˜€

I didn’t read nearly as many new books in April.ย  I did order two new books over the weekend: Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb and Doomsday Book by Connie Willis.

Where She Went, Gayle Forman– I think I liked this even better than the first book, If I Stay. You feel so much for Adam. I loved the progression of Adam and Mia’s night out on the town. Adam finally gets resolution from the questions that have been dogging him ever since Mia left. I love the lyrics to Animate: First you inspect me /Then you dissect me /Then you reject me/ I wait for the day /That youโ€™ll resurrect me (Chapt 23). I can almost hear the music in my head.

p.s. After watching Gayle’s tour of NYC, I am possessed of a burning lust for a “Fictional Character” T-shirt.

The Hunger Games, Suzanne Collins– I thought this was a pretty amazing book. Good writing, good story-telling, good characters, good handling of difficult subjects of poverty, death, grief, starvation, etc. It’s hard not to love Katliss. She’s independent, resourceful, and protective. She’s blind in some spots but that just makes her that much more convincing. I liked Peeta and Cinna, but sometimes they felt a bit too much like tropes. Will have to finish the series.

5 thoughts on “April showers

  1. I’m a little scared about the movie cos I loved the book so much… and I don’t know if they’ll make it good. And it’s not like Harry Potter where the first movie was just okay at best but they had 6 (or actually 7) more chances to make good movies!

    Hunger Games reminded me a lot of Battle Royale by Koushun Takami. I mean, they’re totally different books, but the concept of the games was the same… or at least reminiscent.

    And I’m looking forward to your next month’s reading! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I haven’t read Battle Royale, and only watched about the first 20 minutes of the movie. I’m kind of squeamish. That scene where that first random kid dies was traumatizing for me. I’m glad Suzanne Collins didn’t go into the gory details!

      I’m about halfway through Assassin’s Apprentice and so far I love it. The Wit and Skill remind me of laran from MZB’s Darkover.

      I never know quite what to think of movie adaptations of books. I really enjoyed the Deathly Hallows I, and hated Order of the Phoenix. I have mixed feelings about Peter Jackson’s LOTR…

      1. Ever finish assassin’s apprentice? I love that series but definitely not everyone’s cup of tea ๐Ÿ™‚ I think the third book picked up a lot tho… that was the book where i was like “damn, I have to know what happens”

        I can’t remember if I ever told you taht I did finally read the hunger games-

        definitely entertaining though I’m not sure i want to read the rest of hte series enough to pay for them –

Leave a Reply

